Facebook Twitter You Tube

Household Hazardous Waste (HHW)

Morrison County operates a Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Facility that is open seasonally.  It is located at the Morrison County Solid Waste Management Facility (SWMF).  Residents of Morrison County may deliver unwanted household chemicals to the facility free of charge.
Dates of Operation:  April 15 through September 30
Hours of Operation: 
Monday through Friday - 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday Labor Day to Memorial Day - 8:00 am to Noon
Saturday Memorial Day to Labor Day - 8:00 am to 2:30 pm
Morrison County Solid Waste Management Facility
17502 Iris Road - Little Falls
From Highway 10, 3 miles east on County Road 35 (Iris Road)
Telephone Number:  320-632-1944
Residents of Morrison County may also deliver unwanted, leftover household paint to designated facilities free of charge using the PaintCare program.  The program is funded through fees on each container of architectural paint sold in states with paint stewardship programs. Budgets and fees are set on a state-by-state basis. The fees Minnesota's program, approved by the MPCA in March 2017, and put into effect on September 1, 2017: 49 cents, 99 cents or $1.99 per container, depending on the container size.  More information can be found by visiting PaintCare's website at http://www.paintcare.org/
PaintCare sites accept house paint and primers, stains, sealers, and clear coatings (e.g., shellac and varnish) but do not accept aerosols (spray cans), solvents, and products intended for industrial or non-architectural use.  There are currently three (3) sites within Morrison County that are participating in the PaintCare program, as well as sites in the Brainerd/Baxter and St. Cloud areas.

The products accepted are referred to as “Program Products” or “architectural paint” and they must be in containers that are no larger than 5 gallons in size.

Paint must be in its original container and the container must have a label and a secured lid. They cannot accept open or leaking cans. Please review the following detailed list to find out what can be accepted, prior to dropping off your paint.

PaintCare Products

These products are part of the program – They have fees when you purchase them, and they are accepted for free when you take them to drop-off sites:

  • Interior and exterior architectural paints: latex, acrylic, water-based, alkyd, oil-based, enamel (including textured coatings)
  • Deck coatings, floor paints (including elastomeric)
  • Primers, sealers, undercoaters
  • Stains
  • Shellacs, lacquers, varnishes, urethanes (single component)
  • Waterproofing concrete/masonry/wood sealers and repellents (not tar or bitumen-based)
  • Metal coatings, rust preventatives
  • Field and lawn paints

Non-PaintCare Products

These products are not part of the program – They have no fees when you purchase them, and they are not accepted at drop-off sites:

  • Paint thinners, mineral spirits, solvents
  • Aerosol paints (spray cans)
  • Auto and marine paints
  • Art and craft paints
  • Caulking compounds, epoxies, glues, adhesives
  • Paint additives, colorants, tints, resins
  • Wood preservatives (containing pesticides)
  • Roof patch and repair
  • Asphalt, tar and bitumen-based products
  • 2-component coatings
  • Deck cleaners
  • Traffic and road marking paints
  • Industrial Maintenance (IM) coatings
  • Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) (shop application) paints and finishes

Note: Leaking, unlabeled and empty containers are not accepted at drop-off sites

Additional Information can be found at the PaintCare website at http://www.paintcare.org/.

Back to Solid Waste Division Home Page 

Copyright 2009 Morrison County, MN ~ All rights reserved. Photos provided by Kirk Lindberg, OneStoneStudio.com