Cost Recovery Fee
Minnesota Law requires the parent who applied for full child support services to pay a fee, which is called a cost recovery fee. This fee is two percent (2%) of the amount of the support. This fee is collected monthly until the yearly maximum is reached.
For more information, visit Minnesota Statutes 518A.51.
- Who Pays the Fee?
- is the fee ever waived?
- Yearly maximum fee
- what if you do not want to pay the fee?
The parent who applied for child support services pays the cost recovery fee.
If the parent receiving support applied for services, the fee is subtracted and sent to that parent.
Example: If the child support office collects $150 per month, the fee would be $3 per month. The amount sent to the parent would be $147.
If the parent paying the support applied for services, the fee is added to the parent's monthly support obligation.
Example: If the child support is $150 per month, the parent's fee would be $3 per month. The monthly amount due would then be $153.
Parent receiving support is the applicant: The fee is not charged during the time the parent or child receives public assistance. For example, there is no fee if:
- the parent or child received benefits from the Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP), Tribal TANF, or Diversionary Work Program (DWP) in the last 24 months. The fee is charged beginning the first month after this period (the 25th month after assistance ended), or
- the parent or child receives Medical Assistance (MA) or Child Care Assistance (CCAP). The fee is charged beginning one month after assistance from these programs ends, or
- the parent's child entered foster care. The fee will not be charged until the child has been out of foster care for 24 months.
Parent paying support is the applicant: The fee is not charged if the parent receives Medical Assistance (MA). One month after assistance from this program ends, the state will charge the fee. NOTE: The parent must tell the child support office when MA begins or ends.
- There is a yearly limit for the cost recovery fee.
- This limit may change each year.
- The limit is based on the average cost per case in the Minnesota Child Support Program.
- When the limit is reached, cost recovery fees will no longer be charged for that case for the rest of the year.
Parents who applied for child support services and do not receive public assistance can ask to have their case closed if they do not want to pay the cost recovery fee. Please e-mail or write your county child support worker and let that person know that you wish to have your case closed.